Institute of Materials Structure Science

At the Institute of Materials Structure Science, we pursue leading-edge research, not only in physics but also in chemistry, biology, engineering, and medical and agricultural sciences. We use a variety of advanced beams, including synchrotron light, neutron and muon, which have been developed as our particle accelerators have evolved. By advancing the technology of beam production and utilization we provide tools essential for the progress of materials science.


Director Nobuhiro Kosugi
Deputy Director Hideki Seto, Shin-ichi Adachi
Div.Head Photon Factory : Kenta Amemiya
Photon Factory : Toshiya Senda
Neutron Science Div. : Toshiya Otomo
Muon Science Div. : Yasuhiro Miyake
Head, Structural Biology Research Center
: Toshiya Senda
Head, Condensed Matter Research Center
: Ryosuke Kadono


Photon Factory
TEL : 029-864-5635 FAX : 029-864-2801
Neutron/Muon Science Laboratory
TEL : 029-864-5602 FAX : 029-864-3202

Institute of Materials Structure Science

Research Facilities

Photon Factory
Neutron Science Laboratory
Muon Science Laboratory

Structural Biology Research Center
Condensed Matter Research Center

Graduate Schools

Graduate Univ. for Advanced Studies:
Dept. of Materials Structure Sciences